Photo Blog


While I was out tending to things today, I was spellbound by the growth happening in my little garden. I can actually go outside and pick things to eat. There’s not much there yet, I’m still struggling to learn, and I have all but forgotten what I planted in raised bed number one, so I have no idea if I can eat the leaves or wait for the plants to fruit. Here are some pictures of what I’ve achieved so far.

Swiss Chard. Leaf miners got to a good majority of it, but I’ve been cutting the affected leaves off and feeding them to the chickens. Finally, I have some leaves that I can eat, too!

Image

Crookneck Squash. What amateur gardener doesn’t start with this delicious vegetable?

Image

Cilantro/Coriander. This particular heirloom variety produced a cilantro infused with a hint of lemon flavor. I let it go to flower in order to collect the seeds and attract beneficial insects.

Image

Oh My Gosh, I can not wait to eat these! I have since forgotten what variety of heirloom tomatoes I purchased from the guy who sells these out of his home to supplement his income, but I know they will be delicious. They were great last year, whatever they were.

Image

I can’t believe the strawberries are growing. They got off to a very slow start and then I mulched, which must have made them very happy.

Image

A random chicken picture. The chickies fashionista definitely rate number one in my garden.

Image

About Cashie

I'm a computer tech geeky type person by trade. In this blog, I'm chronicling what it would take for one very inexperienced person to gain the skills needed for self-management in the city, or anywhere else. I don't have a whole lot of tips... yet. However, I have plenty of resources and interesting links, and I hope, something interesting to say.

Leave a Reply

